Event Report: Linuxwochen Wien 2011

There was a GNU/Linux event at Vienna, Austria from Thursday to Saturday. Our Fedora Ambassadors, in particular Zoltan Hoppar (whom I already knew from last year’s Linuxwochen in Vienna), had organized a Fedora booth at the event. I couldn’t resist paying the event a visit, or more than one really:

  • For Fedora 14, only installation DVDs and GNOME ("Desktop") live CDs were mass-produced in Europe. I brought some hand-burned KDE live CDs. Those were a success: I brought a total of 29 KDE live CDs (15 x86_64, 14 i686), at least 26 were given out. (We had only 3 of them left when I left on Saturday afternoon.) Still, I hope that we will have mass-produced KDE media next year. (We also didn’t have any last year. I had brought 6 hand-burned ones. This year, I went up to 29, but I can’t manually burn much more than that.)
  • I got to chat a bit with Zoltan Hoppar, Laurin Novak (our new ambassador from Baden near Vienna) and Volker Fröhlich, and say hello to Jaroslav Řezník who paid us a visit of Friday (but unfortunately we didn’t get to talk much because he was busy talking to Zoltan and me listening to talks, and then I had to leave for a university lecture).
  • I helped out a bit at the booth, talking to a few visitors. In particular, I kept the booth manned on Saturday noon when Zoltan and Laurin held their talk at 12:00 and then went to lunch around 13:15.
  • I listened to a series of 3 talks related to Qt development on Friday morning. The talks focused on new Qt technologies I wasn’t yet familiar with: the first one on Qt Quick / QML, the second one on Qt Mobility and the third one on combining PySide with QML. So those talks were very interesting to listen to.

Zoltan might write up a more detailed report.

  1. #1 by Rezza on 2011-05-09 - 07:45:17

    Hi Kevin,
    nice report and nice event! Glad to be there and meet you at least for a few minutes.

  2. #2 by Christoph on 2011-05-09 - 11:47:33

    Of course there will be KDE media because all media will be one one disk. This means we have as many KDE as GNOME as LXDE as Xfce media.

    Please make sure to request the media you need for the event in time in the EMEA Swag tracker.

    • #3 by Kevin Kofler on 2011-05-09 - 12:23:46

      Of course there will be KDE media because all media will be one one disk. This means we have as many KDE as GNOME as LXDE as Xfce media.

      That’s great, thanks for confirming this. (Zoltan already told me about those plans.) Hopefully this will be kept for future releases, not just F15.

      Please make sure to request the media you need for the event in time in the EMEA Swag tracker.

      I’d expect the event owner to do that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

